Peas Out Mama

blogging about life in the mama 'hood

A Half of a Year in the Life

August. Yup, that was the last time I posted here. And it’s not for lack of material. Are you kidding? A 3-year-old is material enough. No, no. It appears life got in the way. Stupid life.

So yeah, Happy Halloween, Thanksgiving, whatever holiday you celebrate in the winter, and yes, Happy New Year! Resolution #1: Start blogging again. (Okay, not really #1. Number one is more likeĀ stop downing the tortilla chips in one sitting. Doh — screwing that one up right now. Or maybe exercise more…again.)

Well, hey, I’m giving myself credit. I’m writing.

Little Boo isn’t so little anymore. He started preschool in September (holy crap, a whole wealth of writing material). After two teary drop-offs the first week, he seems to love it. Whew.

Check it.

Woo hoo! I'm outta here! (In full disclosure, he did get sad when we had to leave school.)

Woo hoo! I’m outta here! (In full disclosure, he did get sad when we had to leave school.)

I started working a bit more, which was great. I’m actually not being a smart-ass. I for real enjoy what I do. Crazy, right?

Before we knew it, Halloween was upon us. Old Macdonald never looked so adorable.

Hey, where did my farm go? I thought I saw it somewhere. EIEIO?

Hey, where did my farm go? I thought I saw it somewhere. EIEIO?

And while poor Thanksgiving always gets a bit of a shaft (just ask my sister-in-law), we enjoyed a quiet day with my parents, after which Christmas preparations began in earnest.

Shopping, tree trimming, baking, decorating, Christmas music (though someone ought to tell Boo enough is enough already), fires (in the fireplace…duh), baking (did I mention that already?)…so fun.

Boo is way into music and asked Santa for a guitar. Score one for the big guy.

Boo is way into music and asked Santa for a guitar. Score one for the big guy.

And while our New Year’s Eve was full of wake-ups from little man (not kidding…brutal), we kicked off January 1st with a yummy brunch at the beautiful home of one of my favorite people.

Yes, children live in this house. Annoying, isn't it?

Yes, children live in this house. Annoying, isn’t it?

While our time since August hasn’t *always* been fabulous (did I mention that 3-year-olds are their own breed of crazy…I’m sure I have somewhere), I thought it deserved just a few highlights — honorable mentions, if you will. And as I continue this new year, 2013 (how the hell did that happen, right?!), I’m looking forward to more batshit crazy momentsĀ adventures.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “A Half of a Year in the Life

  1. Mary Johnson on said:

    Love that you are blogging again! I love reading them!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

