Peas Out Mama

blogging about life in the mama 'hood

Baby Crap Faves

When it comes to baby crap, I’m all about keeping it to a minimum. Yeah, yeah, I know my kid needs toys, stuff to stimulate him, yadda, yadda. But let’s be serious…my house is only so big. And there’s nothing I hate more than clutter. It makes me sweat.  But here’s the thing about baby crap: A baby needs a certain amount of crap. More than that, I’ve discovered something important about the baby crap, which is that I need it. Because if I have to play with the same freakin’ toys one more day, I might just go out of my mind. The crap is no longer about the boy; it’s about me. And really, isn’t that how it should be?

So because I know you’re just dying to know what my favorite baby crap items are, here’s a “top five” list.

5. Sophie Giraffe (BPA and Phthalate free teething toy): stupidly expensive teether made from rubber and food-grade paint…super cute…made in France…worth every penny as the munchkin looks far more intelligent when he’s not chewing on his shoes.

products-sophie 

 

 

 

 

 

4. Kiddopotamus Rayshade: Gotta give it up to my friend, Kaori, for recommending this one. I was avoiding taking said munchkin for walks because the sun was always blinding him. This thing works like a charm…unless, of course, you’re walking uphill into the sun, in which case, your kid will be blinded.

 

Rayshade 

 

 

 

 

 

3. Odd Duck Bob: Found this sucker at Target today. Made by Boon, Inc., this BPA and Phthalate free rubber ducky is adorable in a strangely ugly kind of way. And knowing that my little genius would shove even a tub toy in his mouth, I’ve been looking for one sans chemicals and toxins. Comes in other versions, too!

 

Odd Duck Bob 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Fishbowl Fill & Spill (by Melissa & Doug): Baby Freddie got this one from Gram and Grandpa Kaelin and he loves it (which means I do, too).  His new favorite game: Mommy hold me so I can stand up, bend over, pick up the seahorse, and stand up again. And again. And again. And again. And no, mommy, I don’t want to sit down and play, so stop asking.

Fishbowl Fill & Spill 

 

 

 

 

 

1. Fisher-Price Ocean Wonders Aquarium Cradle Swing (wow, that’s a mouthful): If it weren’t for this monstrosity of a swing, my kid would never nap. Thank you, Fisher-Price. Thank you.

Fisher Price Swing

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Baby Crap Faves

  1. I need to get this giraffe –I don’t think he was on the market when Caroline was born! The HABA wooden teether, which you may need soon, is good crap too, but my #1 fave is the Tiny Love Symphony in Motion mobile. Total baby crack. Gave me 20 minutes of peace as she would stare it going round and round and up and down and clickety clackety.

    • peasoutmama on said:

      Interestingly, Sophie has been around since 1961, but my guess is that it was not marketed much in the U.S., as we weren’t on top of the chemical-free stuff. In fact, most European baby products don’t even say “BPA and Phthalate free” because it’s just a given in Europe. They’re many steps ahead of us in that arena!
      Check out this site: http://www.sophiegiraffeusa.com/index.html. Freddie has a couple of the other teethers, too.

  2. I noticed the Rayshade on your stroller the other day – it definitely looks like a quality little gadget. +1 to the Amazon wish list!

    And if I notice you starting to sweat next time you come over, I’ll hand you some toys to organize, sort, or purge. 🙂 There’s no avoiding the clutter here!

    Also, is there any way to subscribe to your blog or get an RSS feed? I only see that option for comments.

    • peasoutmama on said:

      Hey Josh! Thanks for your comment! I haven’t figured out the subscription thing yet, but I’ll be sure to let you know once I do. Need to do a little WordPress investigating!

  3. jrfrong on said:

    I applaud your attempt at providing FTF only safe, chemical free toys on which to chew. I fear that my poor youngest child may be endangered as I frequently find him trying to put one of his bro’s Crocs in his mouth, and various other really wrong, germy things, thus confirming I will not be a front runner for mother of the year….again…..I’m also afraid that I will have to recind my invitation to my home, as I am not schooled in basic rescue and my CPR cert has lapsed….if clutter renders you breathless, coming here may be a dangerous proposition. My family room looks like a day care! 🙂

    • peasoutmama on said:

      Who said anything about “only safe, chemical free toys”? I do what I can, but the kid chews on anything…his shoes, his stroller straps, his sleeve. Oh, and I can deal with other people’s clutter, though I must confess to a strong urge to help organize, sort, and purge. OCD? Yes, absolutely.

Leave a Reply

