Peas Out Mama

blogging about life in the mama 'hood

Kiddie Lit

My little boy is already proving to me quite unlike me in the personality department, so I’ve taken it upon myself to brainwash him instill in him at least an appreciation of literature. Lucky for me, Tomie DePaola made an appearance at Tatnuck Bookseller in Westborough, MA. Yup, Bubba attended his first book signing. Hey, at least I kept it on the kiddie level. I mean, he won’t be ready for Julia Alvarez for at least another year or two. (Seen her read a few times…love her books…love her…want to be her friend.) Anyway, with daddy working a full day today (yes, on a rainy Saturday), Bubba and I needed a plan. So I packed our stuff up and headed out with the boy.

The place was a madhouse, which I’d pretty much expected. We didn’t actually get to hear Mr. DePaola read his new book, Strega Nona’s Harvest, or answer questions, but it was still pretty cool. (Wow, the book is way cheaper on Amazon.) Anyway, we picked up a copy of the book and waited our turn to get it signed. Talk about an organized operation. They actually handed out numbers so customers didn’t have to wait in a ridiculously long line with cranky children and crankier adults. They called out groups of numbers, kind of like airplane boarding, but as my neighbor astutely noted, without the complimentary early boarding for parents of infants (boo). Just as Bubba and I arrived at the signing table, my gracious neighbor offered to take a photo. Oh yes, I even thought to bring a camera. Yay for me. And just as he was taking the shot of Bubba, Tomie, and me, the camera died. Dead batteries. Awesome. And Bubba looked so handsome, too. Now that I’m home, I just had to take a picture of his handsomeness.

Stylin' Bubba

Stylin' Bubba

 Okay, so we did get the book signed. Here’s proof:

Signed Book

Signed Book

At some point, I’ll actually get around to reading the book. But I figure, how can you go wrong with a book about an Italian grandmother? I just hope there aren’t any inappropriate Italian words in there.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

