Peas Out Mama

blogging about life in the mama 'hood

Kickin’ It Old School

So in a previous post about baby crap, I mentioned that my little dude looks far more intelligent chewing on his Sophie Giraffe than on his shoes. And there you have it. I got him shoes. Shoes. For a kid who can’t walk. What the hell is wrong with her? you ask. Let me explain. The shoes serve a function: They keep the socks on. The shoes also serve to alleviate my guilt on cool mornings when my son is (gasp) barefoot. So yes, he can’t walk and he has shoes. Call me a fool.

Now here’s the problem with my buying baby shoes: I’m a sucker. Once upon a time, my first job ever was fitting shoes for a Stride Rite store. I was a teenager and needed some cash for college. Now that I think of it, in 1990, minimum wage was so not worth all the kicking and screaming (from the children). I think it was like $4.50/hour. Highway robbery.

Anyway, I’m a sucker for a good baby shoe. And I’m willing to pay for it. My justification is that at least I don’t go all crazy and buy multiple pairs (yet). I bought one good pair of pre-walkers that’ll go with all of his outfits. That seems responsible, right? And did I mention how freakin’ adorable they are?

Okay, so in my quest for the right baby shoe, I searched high and low (a few stores, really…I lack patience in a big way) for those old school, white shoes. I don’t mean the walkers; I mean pre-walkers. There’s a difference, and if you care, I’d be happy to launch into my sales pitch. Well, can I just tell you…they don’t make ’em like they used to. Apparently, moms these days aren’t into the orthopedic shoe look. Why the hell not? They’re baby shoes for chrissakes. Baby shoes. Let them be babies.

Coming up short on my white bootie pre-walkers, I did, however, discover a shoe store I fell in love with. (Alright, I know I’m not supposed to end a sentence with a preposition, but it’s my blog and damn you, Warriner’s English Grammar.) Get this: The store is independently owned. Seriously? Independently owned shoe stores still exist? Well, folks, I fell in love, because, yes, you guessed it; I worked at an independently owned shoe store. (Yeah, I know I said it was a Stride Rite, but yadda, yadda, yadda, it was independently owned. Not interesting.) So the owner is the one who helps me, and I love that he’s worked there forever and knows his schtuff when it comes to baby shoes. We talk shop. We reminisce about the good old days of saddle shoes and bells for laces (stupid recalls). Did I mention I’m in love with this place? It’s called Happy Feet Kids and it’s in Westborough, MA. They have a pretty crappy website, but I found an article about the place in Community Advocate, a local paper. It’s complete with a picture of Harvey Shanbaum (how can you not love his name), the owner and dude who helped me. Harvey helped me pick out a pair of Pediped pre-walkers for Bugsy, and I can’t tell you how many compliments they’ve received. Here’s a picture of his flippers modeling the shoes:

Handsome Little Shoes

Handsome Little Shoes

Just in case you can’t see these too well (hey, he’s a kid, not a foot model), here’s a link to see them better.

So now I don’t feel like crappy mom with the sorry barefoot kid. It’s always going to be about the guilt, isn’t it?  

Although he is starting to figure out the velcro action, Sir Kicks-A-Lot hasn’t managed to remove these suckers yet. Oh, and to my dear husband, you may not want to click on the link to the shoes. But if you do, just know that your little boy’s digits are so worth it.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Kickin’ It Old School

  1. Lisa Feeney on said:

    I love your blog!!! My mom instilled in me that when I had children always get good shoes.. she said it affected everything including posture.
    Wait til you are going somewhere and running late and you get to the back of the car to take him out of the car seat and there it is… the shoes and socks on the ground of the car. Its freezing and you are shivering in the door bent over trying to fight to put them back on!!!! That is when I realized that I would never put laced shoes on them!!

  2. Hi Michelle-

    Love your blog! There is nothing better than good shoes when it comes to little ones. For anyone reading that can’t travel to Westboro for a great independent shoe store, we go to Shoe Market Kids in Cohasset. I absolutely love them.

  3. I TOO BROUGHT MY DAUGHTER TO “HAPPY FEET KIDS” IN WESTBORO. HARVEY (SHANBAUM) ALSO HELPED US.

    WHAT A PATIENT, KIND & KNOWLEDGEABLE MAN. HE KNEW HOW TO FIT, AND HOW TO PROBLEM SOLVE.

    IT WAS A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE. THEY EVEN HAVE A FREQUENT BUYERS PROGRAM SO EVENTUALLY YOU GET A FREE PAIR OF SHOES.

    ANYWAY, THERE IS A LOT TO BE SAID FOR BEING AN INDEPENDENT. I DON’T SHOP ANYWHERE ELSE & NEITHER WILL YOU AFTER VISITING THIS STORE.

    • peasoutmama on said:

      Thanks for your comment, Shay! I agree; Harvey was fantastic. And thanks for mentioning the frequent buyer program. I’d forgotten all about that! Another bonus!

  4. Haha – “Sir Kicks-A-Lot” – that’s awesome! Why didn’t I think of it?? Freddie DOES look much more sophisticated when he’s chewing on those Pedipeds instead of his bare toes. 😉 On a related note, we came to love Robeez for Isabella when she first started walking. Not sure how you feel about those, but I’d highly recommend them! They stay on well, and keep the socks on too, which was also a big priority for us. Plus, the soft “sole” provided decent grip while still allowing her toes to feel whatever surface she was walking on.

  5. I am all about getting good shoes for my kids. My mom brainwashed me that if I don’t buy them good shoes, their feet will get all wonky and messed up. (Not sure if YOU would think they are good shoes though? I am no expert!) And poor little Tommy has brick feet and needs wides! I have to say, there are a few decent independently owned shoe stores in beautiful tax free NH that we frequent! Those are some nice kickers though. Between that and the helmet, FTF is rocking the house!

Leave a Reply

