Peas Out Mama

blogging about life in the mama 'hood

Gettin’ Crafty…Makin’ Shoes

Whoa. Hold up. You didn’t actually think was making shoes. Silly reader. Clearly you don’t know me. No, no. I break out into a sweat in a craft store. I wander aimlessly through aisles, admiring papers, yarns, cookie cutters, and fabrics. My shifty eyes dart from crafter to crafter (who clearly know what they’re looking for), and I’m convinced they know I’m a fraud. And I am. I don’t belong there. I have no idea what I’m doing. So I leave with a new pen, which is really all I have a right to purchase anyway.

Okay, confession: I briefly took up knitting. I knitted a cute, tiny, eggplant-colored scarf for my niece, baby Olivia, and then gave up that horrible hobby. Baby Olivia is now ten years old and in the fifth grade. I couldn’t handle knitting. The results were so painstakingly slow. I’d rather count the hairs on my head than take up those needles again. So no, I absolutely did not make shoes. In fact, I’m pretty sure that if I ever met a sewing machine in an alley, it’d kick my ass.

My new mommy friend (both a new mommy and a new friend), Holly — now that chick makes shoes. She makes bibs, too, and other creative stuff. Quite frankly, I don’t know why she’s friends with me. Come to think of it, I don’t think I’ve ever disclosed my craft-a-phobia to her. Sorry, Hol, I’d understand if you covertly unfriended me on facebook.

Okay, so about these shoes…reallyshe made shoes. Her little guy, Baylen, showed up at our mommy’s group one day wearing these kick-ass shoes, and I’m like Where’d you get those? And she says I made them. And I’m thinking Holy crap…who is this person? I wish I had a picture of Baylen’s stylish kicks, but since then, Holly has made several pairs of a different style, and get this, she even named one of them after my little hellraiser. Check it:

Frederick Cloth Baby Shoe

I was obviously won over by her intro to this style on her facebook page: “Named after Bay’s friend Freddie who is always super stylish!” I’m a big fan of the Baylen style, too, but unfortunately, my little dude’s flippers are too big. Need to commission Holly for a custom pair. Anyway, shameless plug for my friend: Check out her etsy shop for Robay Studio. While you’re there, take a gander at the Jacks bib; Baylen gifted that one to my little pumpkin. So cute! Oh, by the way, Holly is also the author of Sweet Hours, the blog in my list to the right. Check that out, too. And for cryin’ out loud, don’t ever think I’m making shoes.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Gettin’ Crafty…Makin’ Shoes

  1. hollieiv on said:

    Aww thanks for the plug 🙂 And its ok I won’t unfriend you. Haha

Leave a Reply

