Peas Out Mama

blogging about life in the mama 'hood

Boo Boo’s Top Five Fave Tunes

Before my little guy was born, I sort of vowed that I wouldn’t go and buy those Baby Einstein CDs. Hell, if I can’t recognize Mozart, why should my newborn? I completely intend to keep him less intelligent than I for as long as possible. Am I really giving him a bum deal by holding out on the classical tunes? Nah.

And how about baby music? Sure, I sing to him (poor child), but I’ve avoided the baby music CDs as well (or should I say MP3s). Here’s my thinking: Is it so horrible to share a little of my musical taste with my child and delay what will likely be years of baby rock to come? I don’t think so. Am I evil for not introducing Elmo’s grating voice?  Hardly. In fact, I think I’m doing him a great service.

That said, Boo Boo’s fave tunes may not look like a typical baby music list, but I swear he likes them. I swear.

5. “The Itsy Bitsy Spider”: Okay, this one’s a baby tune, but what makes it exceptional is that he especially delights in my rendition. If you’ve ever heard me sing (and I assure you, you haven’t), you know how remarkable this is. Just the first few notes of this song send utter joy throughout his little bones. And who can’t love that?

4. “Crazy Love” by Van Morrison: Why wouldn’t he dig this song?

3. “I’m Yours” by Jason Mraz: Corny Alert: I sang this song (a lot) to Boo Boo while he was busy getting ready to join the world. Yeah, I’m a bit of a softy deep down. I don’t really know if he likes it, but I need to believe he does.

2. “Everywhere I Go” by Jackson Brown: I have a “Frederick’s Mix” on my iPod and played it over and over and over and over (you get the idea) when he was very little. Something about this song calmed every time. It’s not even a mellow song. I don’t get it. Great tune, but I’ll never quite figure out the miraculous spell it had on my boy.

1. “No Sleep Till Brooklyn” by Beastie Boys: Oh no, the irony isn’t lost on me. Boo Boo has fallen asleep to this song more than once. I wasn’t anywhere near Brooklyn. Wasn’t even remotely headed in that direction, actually. And yet, sleep. Go figure.

Now if I could just get him to stop crying while I’m playing Ani DiFranco, we’d be all set.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Boo Boo’s Top Five Fave Tunes

  1. Lisa Feeney on said:

    Michelle you are too funny!!!! My kids have never really gotten into the kiddie tunes. I bought a kiddie cd once for ericka. She was about 4. She asked me to take it out and put on KISS 108. No joke!!! Even now the three of them love Taylor Swift, Lady GAGA, Jordan Sparkes, and many more… It cracks me up! They know more than I do about the artists right now!

  2. Cathy it’s the DVDS being offered on refund not the CDs! I actually have gotten a lot of good use out of the Baby Einstein CDs, especially “Meet the Orchestra”. Caroline would pay total attention (even as young as 5 or 6 months) as the music is pitched to an infant’s hearing. Made car rides SO much easier!

  3. Didn’t it make you excited to see that the Baby Einstein CDs are now being recalled? You should delight in the fact that you did not fall for the marketing ploy… just because it’s called Einstein doesn’t mean it actually makes your baby any smarter.

  4. jrfrong on said:

    My boys are partial to Coldplay and country. Who knew? They might be steppin’ out in cowboy boots in NH soon…..I know, I know. Pick your jaw up off the floor!

Leave a Reply

