Peas Out Mama

blogging about life in the mama 'hood

Book Review: Mr. Brown Can Moo! Can You?

Mr. Brown Can Moo! Can You? by Dr. Seuss: 5 stars

Mr. Brown Can Moo, Can You : Dr. Seuss's Book of Wonderful Noises (Bright and Early Board Books)

This book rocks. I’ve provided the link to the board book version, which, as you might surmise, is different from the actual “big kid” version. We got the board book at the library and monkey loved it. Had to purchase one for him, but made the gigantic mistake of accidentally getting the regular book. Still a five-starrer, but if your kid is anything like mine and shows an utter disregard for all things literary by — deep breath — eating books, you’ll want the board book. Besides, it’s equally adorable.

Okay, so about this Mr. Brown (named as such apparently due to his brown suit…bad choice, but this ain’t a fashion show). Anyway, this dude has mad skillz. Moo like a cow? Buzz like a bee? Amateur play. But wait ’til you really get into this one. He amps it up a few notches. Try lightning and thunder, people. Ha? How ’bout them apples? Fish kisses? Too cute. I admittedly (and justifiably, I think) have my suspicions about this Mr. Brown. I’m not convinced he can truly mimic a hippopotamus chewing gum. Grum, grum, grum, grum? I don’t know about that. But he so gets away with it because who’s heard a hippo chewing gum? That Mr. Brown is quite the savvy one. I like to think of it as Seussian poetic license.

One of my favorite elements of this classic is the repeating Can you? I like the little challenge to all the kiddies. It’s cute, interactive, and dare I say, a little snarky. Me like. I half-imagine an obnoxious middle schooler: I can climb the monkey bars. Can yooouuu? Ha? Ha? Can you? I’ve been honest throughout this blog, and I’ll continue to be so here: I’d say about 95% of middle schoolers drive me insane (which is why I taught high school, but that’s besides the point). The point is, Mr. Brown gets away with the obnoxious middle schooler thing. Making middle school obnoxiousness cute is pretty damn brilliant in my opinion. I’m not saying Dr. Seuss was going for this, but it adds a little somethin’ somethin’ for me. Oh sure, I realize I’m reading way more into this than necessary, but when you’ve spent years of your life analyzing literature, you can’t help yourself. It’s not my fault. Whatever. I give this one five stars.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Mr. Brown Can Moo! Can You?

  1. Lisa Feeney on said:

    This is when I feel like a failing mom… I cant stand reading Dr. Seuss books to the girls.. I keep getting tongue tied and spit everywhere!!!!! They think its great…

  2. Bridget on said:

    This was Wyatt’s favorite as a baby. He loved the last page where you go through all the sounds. He’d break into a smile before I would even start to read and liked to just look at the page since the words are in all different colors.

  3. hollieiv on said:

    This is one of my fav books. Haha Grum Grum Grum.

Leave a Reply

