Peas Out Mama

blogging about life in the mama 'hood

The Creation of a Backseat DJ

I used to feel pretty neutral about rides in the car with Boo. Now I cringe; and I only have myself to blame. I’ve created a monster. Me. I did it. My son enjoys listening to music, so I’ve been known to create a mix for him now and again, even download some tunes. I failed, however, to take the toddler factor into consideration. As in, I’m a toddler and need to hear everything repeated again, again, and oh yeah, again. Oh no, it’s not obnoxious.

If nothing else, my son is a talker. Sir Chats-a lot. Non-stop and at one volume — loud. And though he’s just 18 months old, he knows his music and isn’t afraid to ask for it. Loudly. Problem is, when he’s in the car, he only wants to listen to three songs. Three. Do you have any idea how awful it is listening to three songs wherever you go? Again, it’s my fault. I’ve listened to him, granted his wishes, and now he thinks he can just shout out song titles from the back seat and have them magically played over the speakers. Because, well, he can. His mother is a total sucker. 

So here’s Boo’s current playlist, and trust me, much to my chagrin, it hasn’t varied too much over the past few months.

“Here Sits a Monkey” (Raffi), one of the more freakishly odd children’s songs I’ve heard, is otherwise known as “Middy Dong” (Monkey Song) and requested by Boo as such: “Middy Dong! Middy Dong! Middy Dong!” Check out these lyrics:

Oh here sits a monkey
in the chair chair chair
He lost all the true loves
He had last year
So rise up on your feet
and greet the first you meet
The happiest one I know.

Uhhhhh…what? I can’t think too much about this song or my head will explode.

“1, 2, 3, 4” by Feist, I thought, was a major coup on my part. I was psyched. Boo heard this on the radio one day, loved it, and tried to imitate the sounds. I downloaded it the same day and you should’ve seen the elation on his face. Adorable. Priceless. (Except that it came at a price…$1.99 if I remember correctly.) Anyway, he calls this sing “two tree” I don’t know what he has against one, but he never says one. Not even when we’re counting. Not ever. One day, my husband struck gold by finding the video online. *Cue heavenly music.* My son was in love, and not just with the song. I’m pretty sure he has his first crush. And then, guess what! I found a Sesame Street video of her singing it. Shut. up. This was just too much. The song, the girl, Sesame Street?! Jackpot! By the way, check out the video here. It’s super-cute. Not as cute as my son’s face beaming in delight, but cute.   

“If You’re Happy and You Know It,” a classic, is requested as “Happy!” or “More Happy!” if it’s already been played fifty times once already. I take great pleasure in the ironic responses I can offer when Boo insists we play it more under the following circumstances:

1. It’s still playing. (This actually happens a lot. My son gets fixated on certain parts of songs and wants those repeated. My insanity only goes so far. I stop right there.) My response: This is Happy.

2. The iPod isn’t in the car (call DSS now). My response: Happy’s in the house. Happy isn’t in the car.

3. The song is over and I can’t take anymore. Funny how often that happens. My response: Happy’s all done. There is no more Happy. Bye bye, Happy!

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “The Creation of a Backseat DJ

  1. I just went over to Sesame Street, and that Feist song is FAB! Love it! 🙂

  2. omg, we are the same way except for the choice of tunes… my son is 3 and his playlist includes “boom boom pow” by black eyed peas, “naturally” by selena gomez, “brick by boring brick” (otherwise known in our house as the butterfly song) by paramore, and “bulletproof” by i dont know who… those are the only songs he will listen to, as i flip through them he says no to all the songs he doesnt want, sometimes resulting in a fit, or an excited “yeah!” if its one of the songs he likes…

    it is a pain, but there is nothing cuter than hearing him sing those songs, knowing all the lyrics…

    • peasoutmama on said:

      Thanks for your comment, Keri, and welcome if you’re a new reader! Hope you’ll visit often and comment! Agreed…nothing cuter! : )

  3. Amanda K. on said:

    LOL. Especially when asking for the middy dong.

    We took our first long car ride to the coast with Noah and there came a time when he wouldn’t name and just cried. I found a Baby folk music CD that my mom bought us and Hubby tried to hide. I can’t even explain baby folk music to you or the look on my husband;s face when I put it in and we played it over and over for about an hour and a half because it was the only thing that would stop the crying.

  4. Great post!! Boo has great taste, I love Feist too! Smiled and laughed while reading this post 🙂

  5. Sarah W on said:

    LOL several times!! Anna’s goes back and forth between ‘C-COOKIE!!’ (C is for Cookie) and ‘ELMO SONG!’. Usually she is shouting “ELMO SONG!!’ partway through the song, the part where Big Bird starts to sing. She somehow never considers that part of the song. My other favorite is when halfway through each song she demands the other, over and over and over and over again. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

