Peas Out Mama

blogging about life in the mama 'hood

Playing House*

See this sexy thing here? Oh yeah. The Swiffer. The only reason my house is moderately clean ever. I know, I know. I’m not exactly saving the planet with my mop of choice. But as far as I’m concerned, I’m saving my own little piece of the planet I call home. I’m saving my sanity by not cursing out an inept broom. Saving my back by not lugging our ginormous vacuum up from the basement. Saving my family from the crankypants that is Mama when her floors look like crap. So hey, I take that back. I am totally performing a public service by using the Swiffer. Green? Maybe not. But saving my wee little planet? Sure. (Justification is everything.)  

By the way, these are absolutely not my floors. Those suckers would give me heart palpitations. Seriously…are anyone’s floors that dirty or do I live under a proverbial rock?

Anyway, I love the Swiffer. It is quite possibly the best cleaning invention ever. But rather than elaborate on its cleaning- and convenience-related fabulousness, I’m taking this a step further.

This is what the Swiffer looks like disassembled.

Muh ha hah, you MUST throw me away after each use!!!

See all those poles? They lock into each other to form one large pole. Basic. But here’s the thing. You don’t have to use all of the pieces. You could fit, say, only two pieces into the existing base to create a mop for someone of smaller stature.

If bells, whistles, and happy music are playing in your head right now, you know where I’m going with this. (Or maybe I really have been living under a rock and you’re thinking Yeah, chica, how did you never think of this before?)

I did it. I shortened my Swiffer. And I should totally be nominated for Environmentalist of the Year because my little kitchen environment was so friggin’ happy the day I made the switch. Happy and clean. And happy. Oh, and really, really cute, too. (And clean!)

 

*After titling this post, it occurred to me that a friend of mine writes a wonderful blog by the same name. Check it out!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Playing House*

  1. hollieiv on said:

    Hahahahahaha. I love that photo.
    I appreciate your honesty and now I shall be honest too. We own a swiffer ( GASP!) It is reserved for when company is coming over ONLY. We have three dogs and a toddler, I just can’t keep up. But- I have heard good things about the reuseable swiffer pads out there. You can even make one: http://www.instructables.com/id/Swiffer-Mop-Pad-a-reusable-one!/
    Or perhaps I’ll make it for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

