Peas Out Mama

blogging about life in the mama 'hood

Just Try

The holidays have come and gone with no blog posts. They were fantastic — shopping, baking (especially gingerbread boys with my boy), the tree (and Boo saying hi and bye to it), new toys, family, hearing Boo say Merry Christmas and Happy  New Year for the first time — all good stuff! Boo became a huge fan of holiday carols. Among his favorites: “Jingle Bells” and “Dominick the Donkey”. Boy knows his heritage! “Baby, It’s Cold Outside” took a distant third. Good choice, my man.

While I’m sure my lack of writing really hasn’t rocked your world, it does bug me. No shortage of ideas over here, but serious lack of motivation. I’m not usually one for New Year’s resolutions. I used to make them and they typically led to abysmal failure. Total set-up. So I’ve learned over the years to set the bar pretty low. That’s right — low expectations. That’s the key to my game.

My resolutions typically start with the word try. They go something like this:

  • Try to exercise.
  • Try to write more.
  • Try to eat better.
  • Try to work harder.
  • Try to get out more.
  • Try not to look like I require an intervention from Clinton and Stacy. Actually, I take that back. I need the help.
  • Try not to polish off the tortilla chips in one sitting.
  • Try not to talk back to the dust bunnies.
  • Try to be a better mom/wife/human being in the world.

You really can’t go wrong with trying. Am I right here? I figure if I hit the gym once, I tried. If I eat half the bag of tortilla chips, well, I tried. Trying is what it’s all about. I figure, if I don’t at least try, then I didn’t really care in the first place. And if I don’t care, that kinda sucks.

So tell me, what will you try?

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Just Try

  1. This is too funny… I can so relate! “Try not to polish off the tortilla chips in one sitting” is the best…. And God help me if its potato chips!

  2. Maija actually kissed our tree goodbye at naptime and bedtime. Momma didn’t even always get a kiss but the tree always did without fail! I’d say actually hitting the gym goes beyond success. If your resolution is to try, then grabbing the gym bag and keys before deciding to open up that bag of tortilla chips and watch a Greys marathon meets your goal. Hey, you tried!

    • peasoutmama on said:

      So funny about the tree! He’d call it the “Christmas treat.” And I like how you think! Also, I wish you lived closer!

  3. Bridget on said:

    With the exception of writing more I am trying to do all of those things also. I think it’s built in when you become a wife and mom. I’ll add, “Try not to feel guilty when I don’t get to the gym or do eat all the tortilla chips!”

Leave a Reply

