Peas Out Mama

blogging about life in the mama 'hood

Where to Start

Wow. It’s been so long since I’ve written that I forgot my WordPress password. How lame is that? And my fingers are already getting tired (kidding…I type for work…not that pathetic.)

What kind of a parenting-related blog doesn’t write a post for Mother’s Day? Or Father’s Day? Or for over two months?

Hello, there. That’d be mine.

Well, I’m making an attempt to jump back in here. Every time I’ve thought of something to write in the past couple of months, I’d either never get around to it or dismiss it as uninteresting. Yeah, I’m a bit of a head case at times.

Over the past (almost two) years, I’ve met lots of great bloggers and read some fabulous writing. I’ve made new friends and had lots of laughs. That’s all been a huge bonus and I thank you all for that!

That’s the funny thing about writing; it’s social. (And as an introvert, it’s my kind of social.) I guess that’s something I didn’t really expect coming into this — that people might actually read what I wrote. So then I started thinking about what readers might want to read instead of what I might want to write. And that’s when I stop writing.

In an effort to psych myself up to write again, I’m reminding myself that in creating this blog, I hoped to chronicle some of my parenting experiences with Boo — to be able to look back some day and say, “Oh yeah!”or even “Oh no!”

So here I am trying to figure out where to start.

I guess I’ll begin with what I’ve been up to for the past two-plus months.

Well, I celebrated my second Mother’s Day…

Celebrated a birthday…

Celebrated a close friend’s wedding and traveled to North Carolina for my sister-in-law’s wedding. (How a road trip from MA to NC with a two-year-old didn’t immediately warrant a blog post is beyond my understanding.)

Had a fabulous visit with my best friend…and, um, apparently took no pictures! (Note to self: harass BFF for pictures.)

And celebrated Father’s Day…

Seriously, how can you not love this picture?

Just a few things! Add in some outings with family and friends, and I’ve had some busy days! Oh yeah, and Boo has truly arrived in all of his two-year-old-ness (good times…more later, but let me just say Holy crap.)

Looking forward to getting back into a groove with writing. Sometimes it’s tough to know where to start, but I guess the important thing is that I just do.

So, what have you been up to?

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Where to Start

  1. I think both pics are great: with Mom & with Dad! You have great humor and a great style of expression so do keep this up for yourself …. and for him. Long before blogs, my mother kept a journal of the antics, daily life and funny things we all said as kids. I love to go through and read it, so someday the little guy will so appreciate going through your writings as well!!

  2. You’ve done well with writing about what interests you, so I say stick to that. When you start trying to pander to your audience you lose your authenticity. Glad you’re back!

  3. Bridget on said:

    We’ve missed your updates about times with the little man. Just write and we’ll read. No worries!

Leave a Reply

