Peas Out Mama

blogging about life in the mama 'hood

How I Got My Kid to Eat (a little bit of) Avocado

Let me start by saying that if you’re someone who doesn’t believe in hiding fruits/veggies/whatever in your kid’s food because you have some philosophical stance about it, congratulations. You don’ t have a child with sensory processing issues. And if you’re someone who believes that you are the sole reason your child eats healthily because that’s all you serve and your kid won’t let him/herself starve, congratulations. You don’t have a spirited child. And congrats on the self-delusion. I hope to get there some day.

avocado

Eat me…nom, nom, nom.

That said, I was a wee bit over the moon that my son ate a few bites of avocado. In cognito avocado. I would’ve jumped and clicked my heels together if he wouldn’t have caught on that I was up to something (or if I could actually do that without falling on my ass).

Here’s my “how to” (also known as the recipe I found in Eating Well magazine). Aside: Hubs got me a subscription for Christmas. What was he trying to say? Anyway…

Chocolate Avocado Shake

1 ripe avocado, halved and pitted (and scooped into a blender)

1.5 cups vanilla almond milk or other nondairy vanilla milk; (I used vanilla coconut milk.)

3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder

3 tablespoons brown sugar or maple syrup (or to taste); (I used maple syrup.)

2 tablespoons nondairy semisweet chocolate chips, melted

1 tablespoon vanilla extract, or to taste

12 ice cubes

Pulse and puree until thick and frosty.

Because I can’t help but not follow a recipe exactly ever, I skipped the chocolate chips. Boo on chocolate generally turns ugly at some point, hence the decision. I also skipped the ice cubes out of sheer laziness. I tasted the result, and it was yum. Boo had a few sips, declared it was yummy, and then refused to drink anymore. Next time, I’ll follow the recipe exactly. Two tablespoons of chocolate is worth getting him to eat an avocado. And if you think it’s not, then congratulations. Your child isn’t constipated. 🙂

(If you try this recipe, let me know how it turns out!)

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “How I Got My Kid to Eat (a little bit of) Avocado

  1. Sarah W on said:

    Sounds delicious! Here’s another one to try that LL posted a while back: http://thischickcooks.net/2012/06/01/chocolate-avocado-pudding-for-non-avocado-and-avocado-lovers/
    🙂

Leave a comment